The 2020 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists, Deadline : 01 February 2020

The 2020 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists, Deadline : 01 February 2020

The 2020 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists, Deadline : 01 February 2020

About the Award

The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established in 1981 to recognize outstanding reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35.

Each year, prizes of $10,000 each are presented in local, national and international reporting. Winners are selected by our panel of judges, who share a long-time commitment to our program and are highly respected for their achievements in journalism.

The Livingston Awards invites print, online, video, audio and data visualization entries.

Winning the award helps talented young reporters develop the confidence and the institutional backing to continue producing ambitious projects. National recognition leads winners to new stories, new audiences and new career opportunities. The distinguished names of past winners include David Remnick, Christiane Amanpour, Ira Glass, Michelle Norris and Steve Coll.



In addition, the Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The Clurman Award is presented at the annual Livingston Awards luncheon. More about the Clurman Award »

Awards are presented at a luncheon event in New York City. Leading media figures and the winners’ families and colleagues attend to honor the winners and acknowledge their role in the future of American journalism.

Deadline to enter 2019 work for the Livingston Awards or to nominate a journalism mentor for the Clurman Award is February 1, 2020.

Learn how to enter the Livingston Awards »

Learn how to nominate your journalism mentor for the enter the Clurman Award »


How It Started

Mollie Parnis Livingston, one of America’s first fashion designers known by name, established the Livingston Awards in 1981 to honor her son, Robert, who published the journalism review More.

Mollie loved the top young talent in the fashion business, and gathered them around her, a practice she later extended to journalists. To her delight, she realized that the awards were creating a journalistic “family” of considerable and growing distinction. Her prizes for young journalists recognized talent early and encouraged quality journalism—something both Mollie and her son Robert cared deeply about.

Richard Clurman, former Chief of Correspondents for Time-Life News Service, conceived of the awards with Mollie, and brought aboard Charles Eisendrath to design and implement the prize.


The Livingston Lectures

Livingston winners share their stories with audiences beyond journalism at speaking engagements arranged by the Livingston Awards. The Livingston Lectures, part of the Wallace House Presents event series, spark conversation and connect winners to communities affected by the issues exposed in the winning stories. See upcoming Livingston Lecture event »



The Livingston Awards are supported by the University of Michigan, the Knight Foundation, the Indian Trail Charitable Foundation, the Mollie Parnis Livingston Foundation, Christiane Amanpour, and Dr. Gil Omenn and Martha Darling.

The continued growth and stature of the program relies on philanthropic support from generous institutions and individuals. Learn more on how to support the Livingston Awards and the essential work of journalists.




Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *